Apple pancake topping experiment

2 10 2008

Ah! I got to sleep in this morning, which has been very nice. I made an experimental pancake breakfast. Bisquick pancakes are alright, but adding cinnamon and ginger give them a nice edge. One of my favorite things to do is to make experimental syrups and sauces right there alongside my pancakes.

Since I went apple picking with Lindsay, I have this huge bag of apples that haven’t even been used yet. I cut one up into little pieces and poached it in a small saucepan of water, sugar, cinnamon and allspice. After taking the apples out, I let the liquid continue to reduce to make a nice syrup. Combined with a little bit of maple syrup, it was perfect for an early October morning.

Here’s the made-up recipe, enough for about six pancakes:
1 apple, peeled, sliced into thin pieces
1 cup water
1/4 cup sugar
dash of cinnamon
dash of nutmeg

I let the sugar dissolve in water over heat before adding in the apples. Cover on a medium heat for a few minutes. If you sliced the apples as thin as I did (1/4in or less) they go from firm to floppy very quickly, so you have to keep an eye on them. Then, remove the apples with a slotted spoon, and let the liquid simmer uncovered. The higher the heat, the shorter the time it will take, but the more chance to burn it, because it goes from thin syrup to thick syrup pretty fast. I’ve also read that you want to keep stirring.

A lot of poaching recipes tell you to use whole cinnamon sticks and whatever else in cheesecloth, so you can fish them out afterward. I didn’t really have time to do that, so I used powdered stuff. It adds a slightly bitter and gritty edge to the taste, but I don’t mind. I also wish I had brown sugar instead of white sugar, but I didn’t. I would recommend brown though, just because it tastes better in my opinion. Look up the conversions somewhere online.

Remember that if you plan to eat all this yourself, there’s a lot of sugar in it as I just found out. (heehee…)

I’d love other off-beat apple ideas. Sure, one can make pies and cobblers and cakes all day and night, but what else can you do with apple? Tell me your favorite apple recipes!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

