Job and life and good science fiction

19 09 2008

Oh my goodness! It has been such a crazy week.

I started a new job! It’s at Tumble Kids USA, a gymnastics school for little kids. I teach them how to roll and cartwheel and do some other cool stuff. I have “If You’re Happy and You Know It” stuck in my head right now. I don’t have to sing it, but there are an amazing number of CDs with ridiculous kid songs that we play for background noise.

It’s full time, with good money and benefits. In four days of work, they’ve got me covering full classes when co-workers can’t make it, and soon I’ll have classes of my own. I’m going to get DVDs with official gymnastics skill progressions. How cool is that?

The point of all this is that I’m flat out and trying to put my life in reasonable working order, so the posts have been low, and I apologize for that.

I found two awesome books. One of them just happened to be on the top shelf of my parents’ bookshelf. It’s The Cyberiad by Stanislaw Lem. It’s wonderfully creative, about the universe being populated by robots instead of living organisms. The stories are really fun and witty. Also, they are rather poetic, which is pretty amazing considering that it’s translated from Polish.

My friend Alex lent Asimov’s Foundation to me. I’m going to read it. He speaks highly of the series, so I’m excited.

Also, I’m buying a car on e-bay. More on that later!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

