Victory!

13 08 2008

I did it! I actually wrote a story from start to finish all on my own with no one prompting me and no one assigning anything. A resounding “I can do it.”

It’s about 2,000 words and took me three weeks to find the right voice for the ‘first’ draft. It went through several different perspectives until I found one that compelled me actually to write to the end. It’s definitely still a draft, but I did it.

I’ve started calling it “Rico Marte,” which is (according to Google Translation) Spanish for ‘rich Mars.’ If you want to get all over my case about appropriating languages I don’t rightfully know, please be my guest. But then help me figure out how to do it better. I’d even let you read the story.

Anyway, I did it. Now I’m going to edit it. Don’t they say 90% of the work gets done in 10% of the time, and the other 10% of the work takes 90% of the time? Scary thought.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

