A Post-Breakup Letter to Neil Gaiman

4 05 2008

Dear Neil Gaiman,

You may remember my previous letter in which I stated that our relationship was not going to work. I have reconsidered. Though I still believe an enjoyable long-term relationship is not possible, after reading both Stardust and Coraline I have decided that our one-afternoon stands are perfect and welcome breaks from the mundane happenings of life. Your ability to be so charming and compelling and yet simple in such a short span of time is breathtaking. You are imaginative, intelligent and humorous and I have enjoyed thoroughly both of our afternoons together. As long as it does not stretch on for days, like with American Gods, I think I will enjoy pursuing more alone-time with you.

Without wax,
– Lindsay

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 05 2008
Rachel

Lindsay!
I just read your copy of Coraline that was in the living room and it was frightening and weird and excellent, we should talk.

Also, you should read his collection of short stories “Fragile Things”. Excellent for the one-afternoon stands, and so, so beautiful.

6 05 2008
Lindsay

Isn’t it fantastic? I would love to talk about it, I couldn’t put it down! I’ve read a couple of stories in Fragile Things and enjoyed them – though not to the same extent I enjoyed Coraline and Stardust.

8 05 2008
Cos

But what about Neverwhere? One of his longest, and IMO his best.

9 05 2008
Lindsay

My long-term relationship with Neil did not last very long, and I never got to Neverwhere before I broke it off originally. Now that I’ve found our one-afternoon stands quite enjoyable, perhaps I will consider easing back into a longer-term relationship with him.

Certainly Neverwhere will be on the top of my list! Thanks for the recommendation. ^^

Leave a Reply

