April Fools!

1 04 2008

There is something about playing a massive prank on a significant portion of the population that is fascinating to me. For example (taken directly from the April Fools’ Day – Well-Known Pranks entry on Wikipedia)

The BBC television programme Panorama ran a famous hoax in 1957, showing the Swiss harvesting spaghetti from trees. They had claimed that the despised pest the spaghetti weevil had been eradicated. A large number of people contacted the BBC wanting to know how to cultivate their own spaghetti trees. It was in fact filmed in St Albans.

and

Left Handed Whoppers: In 1998, Burger King ran an ad in USA Today, saying that people could get a Whopper for left-handed people whose condiments were designed to drip out of the right side. Not only did customers order the new burgers, but some specifically requested the “old”, right-handed burger.

While I have never embarked on a prank designed to affect many people, my father and I did have brutal April Fools’ Day prank-wars during my middle school years. I would set elaborate traps for him (generally with the help of my mother) and he would retaliate with less refined, but always more messy pranks. My favorite was when I filled a large vessel with lentils, rigged a wooden stand for it in the corner of the ceiling over the door, tied fishing line to the vessel and to the doorknob so that when my dad came home from work, lentils rained upon him. So many lentils. He commented later that the thought going through his head as the lentils did their work was, “THE HOUSE IS COMING DOWN!”

His response to my brilliant plan was to cover the ear-piece of our phone in shaving cream and pretend I had a phone call. Actually, this sparked a number of shaving-cream pranks including filling socks with shaving cream, filling pillow cases with shaving cream, writing on the bathroom mirror with shaving cream while target was in the shower…

In any event, happy April Fools’ Day to you! I hope it is filled with paranoia, suspicion and eventually shaving cream.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 04 2008
siegem

Hey, happy April Fools’ to you too!

1 04 2008
nwlimited

Nice! Happy April Fool’s Day!

2 04 2008
Lindsay

My April Fools’ Day was indeed happy! Thanks to both of you for wishing it so! It included an ongoing Zombie attack on campus. It was quite a lot of fun.

2 04 2008
Jacob

And it also included attacking my user page…

Leave a Reply

